Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been doing MTB for 2 years now and decided to get a road bike for longer rides/when the trails are wet/when I want to ride from home and not transport my MTB to the trails. The other issue I have is that I also race cars (not professionally) and my sports car doesn't have a bike mount so at least if I take that car out for a few days, I can still ride the road bike on the road, and not be stuck not being able to take the MTB to the trails.

I looked at a few different things, but settled on a 2014 leftover Fuji GranFondo 2.5 Carbon. This bike had most of the stuff I wanted, Shimano 105 gear, besides the cassette, chain, and crank. I heard the Oval 520 crank is durable, a chain is largely a chain, and the 11 speed 105 cassette would need some wheel work to fit, so I'm leaving those things alone. I do however need shorter reach handlebars or stem since the ones on there put me in a more hunched over positon than I'd like. When compared to my friend's bars on his Nishiki maricopa, the difference was huge, same size frame. He got on my bike and said the same thing about being stretched out. Maybe this is part of that endurance/race geometry, but it's certainly a little more comfortable today than yesterday when I got the bike. Still, we had to move the saddle forward more, so I think shorter reach bars are what I need. I tried a friend's different brand bike in the same frame size with short reach bars and they felt right at home, perhaps someone can recommend me a shorter reach drop bar that won't break the bank? I think the factory one is 83mm reach and a 100mm stem. Just placing my hands where they want to go it looks like I need to lose ~30mm up front, whether that's just the bar or stem or a combo of both.