Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been a good while since I've participated.
Lost my partner Kathy to a cycling accident in 2006 and lost the passion for about 6 years. I'm back now and feisty as ever.

Just got another fixie recently; a Raleigh Rush Hour.
Minor mods; slightly longer, slight rise stem; Twofish bottle cage adapter, tail light and headlight (removable) for commuting.

I'm leading a local club ride Saturday (62-70 miles) in predicted 95-100 degree temp. on the fixie.

Past experience doing a couple of hill and/or 100 milers on a ibis Scorcher, and had a Langster for a year or so. The fixie is always the first to go when space gets tight.

Also ride a Calfee Tetra Tetra tandem, LeMond RB, and Intense Spider 4.5 MTb.

Pals with John and Forrest at MTBR/RBR/PHOTOR.

Glad to be back!

·
Registered
996 Posts
Hi Maury. I'm rather new to fixie riding but having fun. My geared friends think I'm a bit crazy. I have some understanding of your loss. My former coach Mary Jane (Miji) Reoch was killed by a drunk driver in 1993. It took a lot of fun out of riding for a long time.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It sounds like you're recovering also.
Kathy was run over by a recycling truck in a classic Right Hook. She'd had two other brushes with death during the 3-4 years previous, so there was a bit of other-worldliness to her passing for me.
She was a great Biker Chick!

I was fortunate enough to meet another cycling gal who helped me through the darkest times. She's also in the health profession, as was Kathy.

Feel free to e-mail me at my other box; [email protected]

·
Registered
89 Posts
It's been a good while since I've participated.
Lost my partner Kathy to a cycling accident in 2006 and lost the passion for about 6 years. I'm back now and feisty as ever.

Just got another fixie recently; a Raleigh Rush Hour.