Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
botanical guru
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm sure this has been covered a billion times on here but I've got a story to go along with my question(s) and I need tips and advice from you vets.

A little background: I'm fairly new to cycling and have really gotten into it this spring. I started last summer as cross training for my first marathon and it improved my running tenfold. This past late winter and early spring I've naturally progressed to cycling more than running. I usually ride by myself unless I've got the Chariot in tow with my 2 year old which is rare, but it does happen on occasion. Since I'm new I've been trying to rise 2-3 times during the week with one long ride on the weekend. This past Saturday was my longest of 41 miles, and then I did a short recovery ride of 11 miles on Sunday.

On Saturday when I was 3/4 finished with my ride I was asked if I wanted to tag along with a group. I've NEVER ridden with a group before, ever. I let the askee know that I've never riden with a group before and he didn't seem bothered. I didn't even know where to ride next to him when we were chatting. We were on a paved trail for a bit, but soon I caught on quickly to the hand signals and other safety signals the group was using in regards of looking for cars and other trail users. We spit out onto the road and soon we were flying. And, I mean flying. Well, to me anyways.

Here are my questions: