Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10,160 Posts
info...

At this point, your only option is a stem with more rise. Post the stem brand and the angle might be easy to find. Some brands only offer one or two angles that can be flipped up or down.

In the flipped up position, the stem will be nearly one full size shorter (horizontally) than it is in the flipped down position.

FWIW, I have a method for lengthening a steerer by up to 1.5cm. As a mechanical engineer, I know it's perfectly safe and actually stronger than the original setup, but the mere mention of this possibility always brings doubtful comments. I've been riding a LOOK KG 461 with a steering tube extension for several years with no problem.

·
naranjito
785 Posts
C-40 said:
I have a method for lengthening a steerer by up to 1.5cm. As a mechanical engineer, I know it's perfectly safe and actually stronger than the original setup, but the mere mention of this possibility always brings doubtful comments. I've been riding a LOOK KG 461 with a steering tube extension for several years with no problem.
C-40, what's your method? Can you explain it?

thanks, foz

·
hello
3,394 Posts

·
Registered
10,160 Posts
info...

foz said:
C-40, what's your method? Can you explain it?

thanks, foz

I can e-mail some details, but in a nut shell, you need something to provide M6 threads for the top cap bolt, then fill the entire stem clamp area with an epoxy like JB Weld. A very ordinary copper tube coupling has the perfect 1-1/8" ID to be used as a form to allow the epoxy to extend above the steering tube. To provide the necessary threads, I used a 1" star nut, with the OD filed down slightly, so it slid into the steering tube without interference. I placed a small piece of foam rubber in the steerer to keep the epoxy from running down below the fill area.