Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using an HRM for several years. At first it was just kind of a toy -- try to hit a new "PR" every ride. I'd come home and tell my wife about a new HR PR and she'd freak out and say "you're going to have a heart attack and die!" Naively, I thought that was funny.

She gave me Joel Friel's HR training book for Father's Day last year. I realized she might be right, I should stop going for HR PRs, and I started trying to establish HR zones and do interval training and everything.

When I started trying to establish training zones last year, I used the 220-46=174 guideline. It seemed accurate because around 168bpm I'd start feeling like I was going to explode. I had a few 171-172 experiences and they were short-lived. Sure seemed like 174 was probably the entrance to Heart Attack City.

But late last year, I had what seemed like a "breakthrough" ride -- I did a severe climb that I'd done many times before at 168-170, but this time I did it at 172-174 all the way up (approx 35 minutes). Though it was extreme exertion, it also felt pretty comfortable. Well, not "comfortable". But not the "gonna-die-gotta-back-off" experience that typically occurred at >168bpm.

Ever since that ride, I've been able to operate in the 168-172 range without the "death-is-imminent feeling"; that seemed to move up to about 175.

A couple weeks ago, I had a 2nd "breakthrough" ride where I did that exact same climb at 177-180bpm all the way up. And now I've done a few more climbs where I felt fine at 175-180bpm.

Is this normal? I hope I'm not teetering on the edge of a stroke or heart attack. I'm 47 years old now and it seems strange that my body is getting used to significantly higher HRs. Is it normal to go from a top end of 170-172 up to a top end of 178-180?