Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been cycling now for about 2 years and recently bought my first power meter which contained the first HRM I have used in the sport. After logging a few rides I have noticed that I seem to have a very high heart rate, even when I am putting in very little power.

Essentially what I have noticed is that my heart rate spikes very easily (I could be putting in 50 watts and my HR is 160) but then plateaus around the 165 mark (and doesn't budge at all until I exceed my FTP, where it stays at 170). I don't feel tired or exhausted even after long rides and my friends have noticed that I do have a somewhat high cadence of 105-110.

I used to do a lot of running sports, that were heavily dependent on short fast sprints followed by long steady jogging.

So my question is, is there a danger in running this high of a heart rate while cycling 10-15 hours per week? If there is a danger, is there a way in which I could lower it?

· The Trollinator
728 Posts
My HR when I'm just cruising along will be 170.

Keeping pace? 180.

Climbing is 190+, max that I've ever seen is 211 on a KOM sprint up a 20% grade.

Resting HR is about 80.

You just have a high heart rate. You cannot, cannot, cannot compare HR between people. Percent of HRmax, maybe, but power is where it's at. Throw the HR strap away if you've got a power meter.

· Registered
114 Posts
zriggle said:
My HR when I'm just cruising along will be 170.

Keeping pace? 180.

Climbing is 190+, max that I've ever seen is 211 on a KOM sprint up a 20% grade.

Resting HR is about 80.

You just have a high heart rate. You cannot, cannot, cannot compare HR between people. Percent of HRmax, maybe, but power is where it's at. Throw the HR strap away if you've got a power meter.