Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to the sport and I bought a HRM about 2 months ago. When I am riding it will say that my HR is anywhere from 80-90% of my max. All the info I have gathered would say this is bad to be riding at this heart rate the whole time. My problem is that the heart rate monitor is saying my HR is high but I am not breathing hard and my legs are not tired. If I drop my heart rate into the 75% range I feel like I am getting nothing out of my training ride.

Also after my ride I can be whipped, my legs are dead and I can barely walk, but the next morning I am not sore. I could do the worst ride and feel it in my legs after but the next mornin I have no soreness at all. Does anyone else get this or is it just me.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Max. heartrate

How does the heartrate monitor know what your max. heartrate is? Max. heartrate is highly individual, so the only way a heartrate monitor can know your personal max. heartrate is if you tell it. If the heartrate monitor isn't set for your own personal max. heartrate, then the displayed % max. is meaningless.

If you read the instruction manual, there is likely a section on how to set max. heartrate, and probably includes instructions on how you can perform a test to find your max. heartrate. Or, you can do a little quick research on the web to find methods to test yourself for max. heartrate, and input that value.

·
Genitive Declensioner
12,146 Posts
rider22 said: