Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im rather new with heart rate training, and I am wondering at what zones (% of Maximum heart rate) should I look for during a easy ride, medium, etc... I''d like to learn more of how to use it to assist my training, please help!

Thanks,

Dan

·
Registered
21,524 Posts
some numbers

Lactate/Anerobic Threshold/max sustainable HR = HR at 30 minute time trial pace.

Zone 5 (Sprinting = max effort)
Zone 4 (LT intervals) 95-105% of LT
Zone 3 (hard aerobic cond.) 85-90% of LT
Zone 2 (aerobic conditioning) 75-85% of LT
Zone 1 (recovery) 65-75% of LT

HR numbers basedon maximum HR
Time Trial 85-90%
Hard Riding 75-85%
Endurance Riding 65-75%
Recovery 60-65%

·
Registered
5,192 Posts
Testing, testing 1, 2

Angelracer said:
Im rather new with heart rate training, and I am wondering at what zones (% of Maximum heart rate) should I look for during a easy ride, medium, etc... I''d like to learn more of how to use it to assist my training, please help!

Thanks,

Dan
The % numbers Kerry has set forth are great. Now how do you plug #'s you have or think you have into the % #'s? Testing. You need to find a means to test and get some accurate reliable baseline max HR #'s. This is gonna hurt. Need to do some research as to how to test (Friel) for these #'s. Using the 220bpm -age is not accurate. There are other publications out that can help you understand the pyramid /periodic training, there is not a short answer to your question.

·
Registered
21,524 Posts
Getting the number

Lone Gunman said:
Now how do you plug #'s you have or think you have into the % #'s?