Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been riding for two years now and I think its time to get new wheels. I am a heavier rider (220lb not fat but muscle). I am riding a Ritchey Pro Deep Section wheel set with DT bladed spokes and I am having constant trouble with keeping them true and quiet (the bearings are terrible). I have been shopping around for a while now and I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on a stiff and light wheel set. I ride about 7 hours a week and I also train at a practice 1k pr lap course. I am more of an aggressive rider due to my size and strength so I need something responsive and stiff. A lot of people recommend the Ksyriums but I would like to know if anyone has any other suggestions before I spend the money. My $$ is up to 600 for the pair.

Thank You

·
Registered
234 Posts
Depends on $$, your use of the wheels...

There is quite a range available. Many of the more expensive wheels are not ideal for someone of your size, riding aggressively on bad roads. Lower spoke counts are not your friend.

A specific recommendation: I am pretty big too, and I have had good experiences with a couple of inexpensive, solid, reasonably light wheels, built with Shimano or Campy.
Mavic CXP-33 rims, 32° or 36°, 14/15 spokes
Velocity Deep-V rims, 32° or 36°, 14/15 spokes
Velocity Fusion rims, 32° or 36°, 14/15 spokes

·
What the Hell is going on
5,143 Posts
Bombproof Wheels

Greetings Raz,
I posted this elsewhere on RBR. Here's my suggestion. I'm 6'2" and 230lbs. (and losing). I build all my wheels and the most dependable, solid, and durable set of wheels I have are 32 hole Velocity Deep V rims on Ultegra hubs laced 3x using 14g DT spokes. I don't race as much as I should but I go on weekly club rides. In the past 5 years this wheelset has seen a lot of hard riding and it still spins straight and true.

·
Registered
4,103 Posts