Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Folsom City Blues...
7,349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

This is my first post here on RBR. It's been a while since I've owned a road bike. I've been riding a GF Big Sur MB for about the last ten years. I wish I hadn't sold my old steel road bikes, but no use cryiong over spilled milk.

Well, anyhoo, I've been researching and searching for a new road bike for the pass three months. Been through quite a few brands in the prossess. I pretty much went through all the big names bicycles. Specialized, Trek, Lemonds, Giant, Kestrel, Fuji, Felt, Soma and C'dale. Road CF, Steel and Aluminun bikes.

I really wanted a steel bike, but I couldn't find one at a resonal price with at least Shimano Ultegra through out. So after all the riding and in and out of LBS, I went with the C'dale R 1000 in the stright race red.

Thus far the R 1000 feels good for short 20~30 miles rides and longer 40~60 mile rides. I haven't felt the negative comments that C'dale's CAAD 8 frames are only good for the short and forgetaboutit, if you want to take her for a long run.

The only negative about C'dale's so far, is that they can ding and dent easly and they have a short use life. So, if my new R 1000 last only two to three years. I guess I can just puchase a nice steel frame and swap out all the R's parts to the new steel frame.

When the time comes, I'll most likely will order a steel frame from Rivendell Bicycle Works. The one that cought my eye is the Rambouillet. Here a link if you'd like to take a look...

http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/html/bikes_rambouilletframes.html

Peace

·
You're Not the Boss of Me
7,749 Posts