Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I am new to road cycling and using this site to expand my knowledge. I have read plenty of hate threads about the new Masi bikes. That being said, I purchased a new 2007 Masi Vincere for $700 being clearanced out. I purchased it mainly because of the 10 speed 105 groupset with Ultegra Rear Derailleur. I am 5'9" and weight 195lb, bought the bike to get in better shape. Here are the specs:

Crankset: TruVativ Elita C 2.0 w/ Giga X-Pipe integrated BB; 50/34
Bottom Bracket: TruVativ Integrated w/ Crankset
Freewheel: Shimano 105 10 Speed 11-25
Handlebars: Ritchey 6061 31.8mm
Stem: Masi ATS Adjustable Height System
Hubset / Wheelset: Shimano R500
Tires: Vittoria Zaffiro 23c Wire Bead
Brakes: Shimano BR560 Cold Forged Dual Pivot

I have already installed Shimano SPD-M520 clipless pedals. I am on tight budget or I would have bought a more expensive bike. I am just curious what change could make the most impact for the buck.

Thanks in advance!

·
Sticky Valentine
28,415 Posts
The 105 stuff is good and there's really no need to upgrade when it's still working properly, which, fortunately (or unfortunately if you've got money burnin a hole in your pocket) will last quite a while. And the Ultegra rear der. is a great one and should do you very well in terms of performance and durability. If you had a Sora rear der I'd say replace that as the difference in performance from Sora to 105 and Ultegra is pretty big, but you've already got an Ultegra one, which is awesome.

My suggestion, if you absolutely want to spend on something, would be to get professionally fit on it and get rid of the adjustable stem. But the only reason for that is that I think adjustable stems look kind of goofy. But really, there's no need to replace that right now either.

I think the only thing you need to put on your bike is you :)

joe

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·