Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I'm new to the fixed gear world and today - so new I haven't ridden fixed yet, but mostly because 3.5 meters of snow and 23mm tires DON'T get together well.

Back on topic. I've fiddled with my fixie today, installing new tires and stuff. Putting the rear wheel back in place was more trouble than I expected. I found that it isn't really easy to make sure the wheel is properly aligned - and god knows that you really want the wheel to be perfectly in line with the frame! Anyone has tricks for this?

Besides, how much chain tension do I really need? I tried to bolt down my wheel as far back as I could, and my cranks didn't spin freely at all. I then moved the wheel forward just a little (perhaps 1mm) and everything spins great, but I wonder if the chain is tensed enough. There's no perceptible chain sag, but when I spin the cranks and then "jerk" them backwards, I can see the chain move up and down. The max. amplitude of the chain's movement is about 1/2". Would you fixed-vets find this acceptable?

·
hello
3,394 Posts
Svooterz said:
The max. amplitude of the chain's movement is about 1/2". Would you fixed-vets find this acceptable?
Yes...

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
roadfix said:
In fact, it may still be a little tighter than necessary, though if it doesn't bind anywhere you're probably okay.

There's no perceptible chain sag
I generally have some perceptible sag, maybe 5-10mm

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
That's cause you're almost my age. I measure in cm's these days.

My favorite trick for holding the wheel in place while tightening the nuts is to stuff a balled up rag between the wheel and the seat tube.

·
hello
3,394 Posts
JCavilia said:
In fact, it may still be a little tighter than necessary, though if it doesn't bind anywhere you're probably okay.

I generally have some perceptible sag, maybe 5-10mm