Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, thank you in advance for all of your input. I've been riding for about five years and have never been able to get dialed in with a well fitted bike. I finally said screw it and got measured.

My specs:

I'm 6 foot 2-1/2 inches tall with a 36.6 inseam. :mad2: I Do Not Have a Torso. I ride about thirty miles four days a week and will try to get 50 miles in the last day of the week. In the winter I do one hour spin classes five days a week. I need help finding a bike that will work with my odd geometry.

My goal is to find a carbon / ultegra bike (don't care about price, only fit) and I have the following choices. PLEASE LET ME KNOW OTHER BRANDS I'M MISSING.

1. Giant (58 cm), I cannot find a Giant with a headtube longer than 180 mm's.
2. Cannondale (58 cm), I cannot find a Cannondale with a headtube longer than 180 mm's.
3. Trek Madone (58 cm), the "performance" madone has a 190 mm head tube with a 57.2 cm Top Tube.
4. Cervelo RS (58 cm), 200 mm head tube with a 58 cm top tube.
5. Specialized Roubaiz (58 cm), 215 mm head tube and a 58.2 Top tube.
6. Specialized Tarmac (58 cm), 205 mm head tube and a 58.2 Top Tube.
7. Orbea, I can't find an orbea with a headtube longer than 180 mm's.
8. Pinerello paris (57.5 cm) has a 58 Top Tube and a 195 mm headtube.

My Thoughts:
Giant, Cannondale and Orbea are out, too small of head tube.

Madone- this has the shortest TT 57.2 cm's but only a 190 Head tube. I tried the 60 cm but that was way too big.

Cervelo RS- this has a decent 200 mm head tube and a 58 cm TT. I like this bike but is it too much for me? I'm not planning on racing but want to find something to carry me over a century. My longest current rides are 55 miles, alone.

Roubaiz (spelling?) this has a monster head tube at 215 and I actually think it might be too much. Plus I wasn't impressed with the carbon on the one I road.