Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a runner by trade, but i have recently become interested in road biking through my friend who bought a bike to ride down the west coast. i went to my local bike store with the intent of test riding a trek 1000 or giant OCR3, but the salesman pushed me to the trek 7.5 FX, more of a flat bar road bike/hybrid. He told me that this would be a better entry level road bike due to its finer components than the trek 1000 or OCR3. I am rather skeptical. Is it better to start on an entry level road bike and either get a new bike or new components when I grow out of the entry level components, or would it be more safe to buy a bike like the 7.5 FX as a starter road bike and get a higher level road bike if i really start to love the sport? HELP!

·
Registered
339 Posts
What kind of riding do you plan on doing? It looks like the Trek 7.5 FX is a hybrid with mountain bike gearing so if you are mainly going to be doing road riding especially if you plan to do group rides or dabble in races then you would want to avoid that and go for a true road bike.

How much to spend depends on how much you are willing to commit to a sport that you may end up not liking plus for your first bike you don't want to spend too much as at that stage you don't know what you like and what you don't.

Did the salesman listen to your needs first and then recommend the hybrid or did he just flat out recommend it? If it is the latter than I'd find another LBS...

·
Registered
284 Posts