Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm new to cycling so please forgive my ignorance :)
I struggling trying to figure out how I can achieve the correct gear ratio for my son's bike. He joined the local club but as a Peewee, there are some gear ratio limitations for competition. His bike is a 49 Specialized Allez with a 8-Speed Claris Compact Groupset: 50/34 front and 11/32 back.

8th32
7th28
6th24
5th21
4th18
3rd15
2nd13
1st11

<colgroup><col><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

According to the rules the max ratio for his class is 2.875 or a (46/16). Looking at some videos on youtube I tried to limit the rear derailleur so that we would not go the lower gears (11,13,15) but I can only manage to stop at the 3rd cog (15). 50/15 = 3.333 which is higher than what he can go. If there was a way to limit the derailleur to stop at the 4th cog (18), 50/18 = 2.777, he would be fine. The Hi-Limit screw in the rear derailleur is already all the way in. Is there another way to limit?

I also thought of changing the rear cassette but all Claris Cassetes have their 3rd last cog as 15 which would not help me in this case. Is it possible to mix and match cogs from different Cassetes within the same groupset? I mean, could I have something like this:

8th32
7th28
6th24
5th21
4th19
3rd18
2nd15
1st13

<colgroup><col><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

Shimano Cassettes: 2017-2018 SHIMANO Product Information Web

Thanks in advance for all your help :)

Alex

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
If you bought one of these - 12-13-15-17-19-21-23-25

Combined with your existing cassette you could get 12 (not used), 18-19-21-23-25-28-32

Which gets you 7 useable gears with a good spread.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow! That would be great, so there is no problem mixing and matching cogs from within the same groupset :)