Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
It's in the game!
2,042 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In a discussion over coffee I mentioned to an exercise trainer that my exercise related max heart rate has increased with my fitness increase. He said that it was impossible for my max heart rate for cycling to increase and that it should be lower as I got fitter. This is not what I have read on prior posting by some of you. My max heart rate has gotten higher since last year. In the beginning it maxed at 155 but now it is at 161. Set me straight or help me set him straight. Thanks

·
gastarbeiter
1,513 Posts
i'm far from an expert, but i believe that you're more or less right.

IIRC the fitter you are the longer you can ride at/near your max.

I used to be obsessed about this stuff when i raced properly 11-14 years ago, but i've forgotten most of the trainspotterish details i used to know, mostly during the 8 years i spent off the bike. ;)

dagger said:
In a discussion over coffee I mentioned to an exercise trainer that my exercise related max heart rate has increased with my fitness increase. He said that it was impossible for my max heart rate for cycling to increase and that it should be lower as I got fitter. This is not what I have read on prior posting by some of you. My max heart rate has gotten higher since last year. In the beginning it maxed at 155 but now it is at 161. Set me straight or help me set him straight. Thanks

·
Registered
128 Posts
I think I know what your trainer might have been getting at.

Let's say at the beginning of your training you ride 20 miles in an hour and you have an average HR of 150. After a season of training, you do that same ride, 20 miles in an hour, and your average HR should be lower, 140 for example. As you become fitter, you become more efficient at what you're doing.