Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
a$$hole
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I'm new to road cycling. I'm looking to upgrade my stock Shimano RS-10's. They weight 1884g. From what I've read, it looks like Neuvation's clincher wheels are a great option for upgrade. I weight 165-170...usually I stay around 165/166lbs. I'm riding an average of 100 miles per week right now. I like the idea of the weight savings with the R28 SL5's which would give me 0.86 pounds of weight savings over my current wheels, but will they hold up with my weight? Or should I opt for the R28 Aero 4's, which would only give me 0.58 pounds savings?

I'm looking for WEIGHT SAVINGS and WHEELS THAT STAY TRUE at a GREAT PRICE POINT (I haven't learned to true wheels yet). Durability is also an issue. I realize the durability is affected by many things, mileage, quality of the components, rider weight, etc. I'm trying to find the best balance with what I'm looking for. Being new to road, I don't have much of a reference point or experience to help me decide.

I have read a few people who say the bladed spokes on the R28 Aero's cause the bike to feel a little twitchy in the wind. On the other hand, I'm afraid the SL5's might not support my weight very well. I wish I was 145 pounds, but my body type is just not capable of being that small.

Is there any really good reason to go with the Aero4's since it would only save me 1/2 a pound over the stock shimano rs-10's? If it matters I'm riding on a Specialized Tarmac Comp.

I thought maybe you guys could help me choose if I gave you a bit of info about myself and what I'm looking for.

It's really nice to be here. I've been searching through the forums for several weeks now. It's a great site you guys have.

Chris

·
Registered
5,671 Posts