Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I'm at a point where I just do not know which trigger to pull. I weigh about 185 lbs and just became a roadie this season. I have a Felt F60 bike and mainly ride flat to rolling hills of Central NJ. I do plan on doing club riding very soon. My goal is to be able to do a century by the end of this summer. I mainly ride on the weekends for about 30-75miles.

I have recently found myself killing myself over which way I should go, either get a set of factory built wheels for around the $350 range like the Neuvation M28 Areos or go with a custom built set from Troy for about $500. All in all, I'm not sure I would notice a difference in either since I am fairly new to the roadie scene.

My thought is that the custom wheelset would be like my dream wheels and the Neuvations would be pretty good. But since my bike is not a high end bike, I'm not sure I should invest so much into a custom wheelset...

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Carbonormous
163 Posts
Wheels can always go with you to a new bike. See what used wheels you can get for that $. I bought a set of Topolinos (butter baby) for $500 and a set of Bontrager X Lites for $200 (the guy spelled Bontrager wrong so nobody saw the auction).

·
Registered
163 Posts
If your current long weekend ride is 75 miles, you'll be ready for 100 in 3 weeks, particularly if you have no major hills.

If you want great wheels go with Troy's, but if you're just looking for good everyday wheels Ultegra-10 / OP's are $190 right now from Performance.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
rruff said:
I'll second that...

But I'm wondering... what wheels do you have now, and what is wrong with them?
The wheels that I am using now are the stock Alex Class 220s. I just replace the tires to GP4000s cuz I blow out my rear tire.