Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm dreaming of a new bike I just don't know much about it yet. I'm hoping that you all can help me narrow it down a little bit to make my search (and bike lust) more focused. I know, touch call, but bear with me a bit. First a bit about me. I'm 6'2" 260lbs with more torso than most people my height. My pants inseam is only 32". I've been riding for 6 years now. I ride recreationally only on rides up to 100 miles. With my two little boys I'm happy if I get in 1500 miles in a year.

My current bike is a Specialized Allez Elite 58cm that I bought before I knew anything about road bikes (or what shops to look in for one.) Needless to say it doesn't fit me that well. I've tweaked the seat height, seat fore/aft position, replaced the stem with a higher angle and use about 1" of spacers too. I just can't get the bars up to the level I'd like on this frame. I've currently got them within 1" below the seat, but I'd prefer them higher (and more comfortable.)

What I want is comfort. From reading I think I want more of a touring geometry so that it'll accomodate larger tires (25-28mm). I'd like to try something other than aluminum (with carbon forks) and have been thinking either steel or carbon. With my weight I'm not the least bit concerned about the weight of the bike. Mostly I want a bike that's comfortable and won't beat me up.

I get pains between my shoulder blades on rides longer than 30 miles. Its much better since I've adapted my riding position to the bike and tweaked the bike but I'm basically at the limit of what I can do on this frame. I'm not sure of the budget but $2-2.5K is probably reasonable. Given that I spent $1K on the one that didn't fit 6 years ago. :-(