Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm a pretty newbie biker- looking to get my wife into it also since I love it so far. Due to budget, we went with a pretty- but older, Bianchi- we found on craigslist for $75. I'm wondering if I got my moneys worth and looking for more information on the model/ value.
Also- it has thicker tires/wheels on it. (Still road wheels I think- just thicker)
How difficult would it be to change them to the 700's like on most bikes today?

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
I consider a road bike that goes, stops and shifts without undo hesitation or grinding to be worth about $100, assuming nothing needs immediate replacement.

It may already have 700C wheels, or it may have 27" wheels. It depends on the vintage of the bike - it looks to me to be an age that could have either. The tires should be marked as to what size they are.

If it already has 700Cs, just get whatever tire you want and be happy. If they're 27", things get a little more complicated. 700C wheels have a bead seat diameter of 622mm. That's also pretty close to the outside diameter of the brake track - most rim sidewalls probably have a diameter of about 3mm more, since the hook has some thickness (I'm guesstimating the 3mm.) 27" rims have a bead seat diameter of 630mm. Depending on how the chainstay arch and fork crown sit relative to the dropouts, sometimes you can just adjust the brake pad on the caliper and sometimes you need the next larger size of brake.