Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am new to cycling. I have had my bike for about 3 weeks ('09 Specialized Dolce). I have a dilemma.. I test drove hybrids today. I was hoping to like the hatchback so that I could take the wheel off and put it in the car, but I think I really liked the Civic Hybrid and I can get it for a better price. The only thing holding me back is the fact that my bike will not fit in the trunk b/c the seats don't fold down. I usually ride after work, but I don't work in a very good area and I am worried to leave my bike on a rack during work. So after all of that explanation I really need advice on what rack I could get (roof??) that is secure. It would need to attach to a civic hybrid. I really like this car, but I may go with the Honda insight hybrid hatchback for the sake of my beloved bike! Thank you so very much for any advice!!!

·
Registered
277 Posts
Get a Yakima with Locks and a locking bike rack for the top. I have a Prius and that is what I use I lock down my Madone with it and it's very safe.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I can't tell you how much I love that car. It is just great and I laugh every two weeks or so when I have to fill it and it's like 12.00 bucks.:D If I put the back seat down I can get my bike in it without taking the wheel off too. I just hate to take the kids car seats out to do it.

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
The seats go down on MY Civic...

WhitneyE said:
I really liked the Civic Hybrid and I can get it for a better price. The only thing holding me back is the fact that my bike will not fit in the trunk b/c the seats don't fold down.!
I know this sounds insulting, but are you sure? We've had two Civics, and the seats fold down on both. I can get my 64cm Atlantis back there with the wheels off.