Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am looking hard at a 2005 Kelly Knobby X. Wondering what parts I put on it. Kelly recommends mountain bike cranks and hubs. Rear spacing is 135. I am assuming that I have to run mountain bike hubs because of the spacing? Do I need to run mountain bike derailers? Could I run STI shifters, a rear 105 derailer, Ultegra casette and LX hubs? Will that screw up the chain line? Kelly recommends rear mountain bike type derailer? Advantage? What am I looking for in a rim? Will standard road rims (say...standard open pro for road) fit a cyclocross sized tire (> 30 mm)? Bottom bracket? How about Ultegra triple bottom bracket? Thanks in advance for your help!!

Mike

·
Game on, b*tches!
13,467 Posts
I'm a newb too, but I can answer some of the questions.

I don't see any reason you couldn't use a road rear der-spacing is the same on Shimano mtb and road cassettes (assuming their both 9 speed) using sti levers. Wheelsets you may want to try soemthing beefier, like a CXP33 or similar, although I suppose open pro's would be OK (32 hole). That's about it. If I'm horribly wrong, someone else please chime in! And, post pics when yer done:)

·
Registered
2,227 Posts
Well, you pretty much need to get a wheel built up custom with a mtb spaced hub and a standard road rim. A plain old 32 spoke road setup is just fine, maybe something like a Mavic box section. You can run a road or mtb derailer, you need to use a long cage derailer if you run a larger cogset in the back, we generally run nothing much larger than a 38 x 27 on a cross bike, assuming a double front chainring, which is standard, so any derailer works fine.