Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!
I'm planning on getting a new road bike to begin training for short triathlons. I am pretty new to the world of road biking and would love some input on the best bikes out there. I'm hoping to spend a max of $1,500 and get a good first bike that will give me some performance.

I've been pointed to the Cannondale Synapse for women with Tiagra components on sale at $2000 at a local store. Would an upgrade to 105 components be worth it?

Any other brands of bikes to recommend?

Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
haole from the mainland
5,962 Posts
That C-dale sounds overpriced. For $2K I'd expect 105 components and a carbon frame.

Felt and Jamis are both good brands that also make WSD models.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I agree with Jorgy that the C-dale is overpriced for what you are getting. If you are going to race on it, I wouldn't go with anything less than 105 components. That said, you should be able to find a quality aluminum frame with a carbon fork and either carbon seatpost or seat stays in your price range, easily.

The most important part of purchasing a new bike is fit though... If you can find a shop that does fit first and bike second, that is the BEST way to buy a bike. Systems like Veritas and Serotta allow the fitter to create a bike geometry on a fit fixture and then compare that to the geometries available in the shop or in other shops, allowing you to know the bikes that fit you best without having to test ride all over town.