Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to fixed gear riding. I've tried a few, but I don't know enough to make a truly informed decision. Any help would be appreciated. I have more money than time, but I don't have a lot of money. Because of that, I want to buy a bike rather than build one, but I'm not looking to spend a fortune. I've been looking online at the Jamis Sputnik and the Bianchi Pista. There is a little bit of a price difference here that definitely counts for a big part of my decision, but I was hoping that some of you might be able to weigh in on other factors. I'm open to other bikes too. I'm looking for something affordable, and I prefer steel. Other than that, I'm wide open. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
In addition to the Jamis, the following bikes can be had for under a grand. All of these have their fans and their detractors, but they represent good quality, mid-priced, pre-built fixies. Do some searching on this website and Google to see what the differences are and their availability in your area.

Bianchi: Pista or San Jose (with mod)
Raleigh: Rush Hour
IRO: Mark V, Jamie Roy, Rob Roy, Angus
Redline: 925
On One: Il Pompino
Milwaukee: Orange One
Surly: Steamroller (not sold as a complete bike)
Giant: Bowery
Van Dessel: Country Road Bob

·
Registered
124 Posts
I have ridden the Sputnik, the Pista, and the Rush Hour, and they are all great bikes. If you are planning on commuting with it though, I would probably go with the pista or the rush hour. The Sputnik is an awsome bike, but is kind of flashy....
Giant is also coming out with a fixed called the bowery...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks and more questions