Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm a complete beginner looking to invest in a bicycle and need some help. I've been poking around this forum for a couple weeks now to try and understand some of the basics. Most of the things I've read have been helpful and I think I may have come across a bicycle that would suit my needs, is within my budget and is aesthetically pleasing to my eyes. I'm looking to maybe get a second opinion on the bicycle, hear some pros and cons about it and also any recommendations on a different bike that is around the same price with similar, if not better, features. Thanks for the help!

Trek Madone 2.1 $1,250.00 usd

Trek Madone 2.1 - Bicycle Discovery Inc.

·
Premium Member
5,457 Posts
It's a good bike with good components to last.

Are you 100% sure you want a Madone? Have you test rode a more relaxed geometry Domane yet? Granted the Domane 2.0 for the same price, gets a tier down components (10-speed Tiagra)...

Real friendly people at the Bike Discovery in Fountain Valley. Very tiny shop though. Unfortunately, they are next to a Performance Bike.

Also, if you want to look at Specialized bikes.... there is Surf City Cyclery in Huntington Beach.

CHeck out the Allez (vs Madone) and Secteur (vs Domane).

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
I'm a bit of a Specialized fanboy but that is a nice bike. The only thing I could see that I would change out is the cassette...which is a Tiagra...I'd change it out to a 105 which is a smoother riding cassette. I actually have current Tiagra, 105 and Ultegra cassettes on different wheels and the difference between the Tiagra and 105 is actually pretty big...the 105 and Ultegra? Not nearly as much.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts