Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to racing, have seven races under my belt.
My back round has been mainly centuries with about 5 to 8k of climbing.
Now I'm finding that in crits that are mainly flat I'm about to hang about 4 to 5 laps before getting shelled and then lapped, but if the crit has some type of short climb I am able to hang and finish mid field.
Has anyone had this problem. If so how do you train to better yourself on flat crits?

·
Registered
5,613 Posts
short intervals. It's probably the accelerations out of corners that is causing problems. One way to deal with this is to find an industrial park area loop with a right hand corner you can practice coming into and then accelerating for 15-30 seconds out of it, use a section to recover, and then hit the corner again. A training partner is good for this - take turns leading out of the corner and try to accelerate them off the wheel.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys,
A typical ride week for me is around 8 to 10 hours a week. I just got some more time free up and will try for 10 to 12 hours. I'm trying out the Time Crunch Training program now. On Tuesdays there a summer training crit series that I have been doing every week, I just replaced the Tuesday interval workout with that crit.
The crit is held in an industrial park that has one short hill leading into a right hand corner.

·
Registered
7,161 Posts
In my experience, some riders get a little shy when it comes to the corners. Try to maintain speed and be ready to accelerate as soon as possible while still in the corner. As usual, it helps to be near the front so you don't get held up by the slower cornerers. If you're a bit back from the front, upcoming corners can present an opportunity to move up as riders around you start to slow prematurely.

·
Registered
5,613 Posts