Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused: Hello all,
I am a beginner who just purchased a road bike two months ago. I love it but I'm having a little trouble getting it fully adjusted. The biggest problem I'm having is I can only seem to get one finger around the brake lever while in the drops. I went to my LBS and they ordered inserts that were supposed to bring the levers closer but when they installed them they moved the brakes further up on the bar because they thought they were too low. So it seems that negated any help that the bumpers may have offered. I've tried rolling the bars down but then the hoods are too low. I've heard some refer to raising the stem but I'm not sure how to do that. I've also seen some referals to reach distance in the bars but I want to be sure before I purchase new bars. Does anyone have any ideas?

My current setup is a Jamis Ventura Comp. I have Easton aluminum bars and stem and shimano 105 shifters/brake levers.

Any help anyone could offer would be appreciated. Thanks

Matt

· Banned
6,492 Posts
It's almost infinitely adjustable, and you can do it

Assuming you don't have supernaturally tiny hands, it's probably a matter of adjustment, and there's nothing there you can't do yourself. Moving the levers around on the bars doesn't mess with your driveline or brake adjustments, and it only takes simple tools. The toughest part of the job is learning to retape the bars smoothly, and that's easy.
First, remove or at least partially unwrap the bar tape, so you can move things around. Then loosen the bolt(s) on the stem that hold the bars.