Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
2,817 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What is the difference between the Pro and NonPro 5.2 other than the crank and cassette?

Speaking of which, because I am a noob, what is the difference between the two?

Were there any major changes / upgrades between 2007 and 2008 that I should be concerned about?

Thanks!

P.S. When would be a good time to look for used 2008 bikes, and where should I look?

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
1) the Performance fit has a 30mm taller Head Tube which gives a more upright and relaxed ride, as opposed to the Pro fit. The 2008 Pro fit is similar in geometries to last years Madone frames.

2) That being said, as to the differences between the 2007 and the 2008 frames.... Uhm, to put it simply and bluntly, forget Trek ever made a road bike before 2008, the new frames are not comparable to prior year offerings. That is a bit unfair, as the pre'08 Madones are absolutely fantastic bike's. It's just that the '08s are very very different.

HTH
zac

·
Registered
2,370 Posts
To get a better deal on a current Madone might mean waiting until the next generation model is on the horizon. These are selling for full pop everywhere. A dealer would have to be less than smart to reduce his price on these.

On the pro vs. performance fit discussion, try not to think of the performance fit version as a comfort/easy ride sort of thing, it's more a way for guys with long legs and short torsos to arrive at a good fit without using a totem pole's worth of headset spacers or riser stems. The frames are exactly the same from a construction standpoint.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
Misleading..

davidka said:
On the pro vs. performance fit discussion, try not to think of the performance fit version as a comfort/easy ride sort of thing, it's more a way for guys with long legs and short torsos to arrive at a good fit without using a totem pole's worth of headset spacers or riser stems.