Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i'm a relative beginner here so need some advice. How much would you pay for this set-up...

and would it be a suitable buy for me? I'm 6ft2 and doing the highland cross in the summer.

Thanks,
Alistair

·
gastarbeiter
1,513 Posts
more info needed

·
Moderatus Puisne
15,886 Posts
Um... I know you're new, but you must know we can't tell you the value without knowing some specifics like the complete components list, and we can't tell you whether it will fit you if we don't know the bike's size!

Good luck though.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
here's the description the seller gave me...

brand new argon 18 radon racing cycle.alli main frame with carbon forks and rear end.

10 speed ultegra groupset itm bars and stem mavic cxp22 rims

57cm centre to top.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Well, now that we know the bike's size, we need to know your size. i.e., inseam length, overall height, etc. Are you able to take it for a test ride? If you don't fit on the bike, then it's pretty much worthless to you.

·
You're Not the Boss of Me
7,746 Posts
Without being able to address the fit issue (as others have noted), I think that from a private seller (so you aren't getting LBS support and I'm not sure of warranty status), I'd say around $1000 USD tops.

If this is a retail purchase, then you can price shop online for a sense of what these really bring.

·
pinoy thunder
341 Posts
That's not a 10 speed in the picture.
The wheels in the pic are not the CXP. They look like Dura Ace wheels to me. Ask pictures of the CXP's. CXP's are much cheaper thann DA wheels.

Ask the seller for specifics like:
-Mileage
-Has the frame been in a crash?
-Has it been raced?
-Is he the first owner?
These are very important points in determining the possible value of the bike.
Read articles on fit before you buy ANY bike.

·
Administrator
13,010 Posts