Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Apa kabar?
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just wanting a little input/advice/comments/suggestions on what you all think about me possibly starting a high school cycling club. i'm a high school teacher, and i would be the sponsor. are there high schools in the USA that have these, cause i know that my school did not. i think it would be something that might be interesting for the people that don't play any of the "major" sports. funding might be a problem though, and suggestions welcome for that too.

·
Registered
8,116 Posts
In Europe, all sports exist outside of school- probably the way it should be. There are sports clubs for all types of sports. The trouble I envision of attaching it to school is liability issues.

B-Fun said:
just wanting a little input/advice/comments/suggestions on what you all think about me possibly starting a high school cycling club. i'm a high school teacher, and i would be the sponsor. are there high schools in the USA that have these, cause i know that my school did not. i think it would be something that might be interesting for the people that don't play any of the "major" sports. funding might be a problem though, and suggestions welcome for that too.

·
Registered
11,555 Posts
In Europe, all sports exist outside of school- probably the way it should be.
I agree. I was introduced to competitive cycling at 12 years of age through a German city-sponsored program, which even furnished decent quality smaller-wheeled loaner racing bikes. We met and rode after school, which, as fitersweep said, offered no sports whatsoever (no dances, clubs, societies, etc, etc, either).