Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I realize this might be a bit like asking "What's your average speed" on the general forum, but I'm a noob to fixed gear riding so be it...

What type of realistic downhill speed can I hope to maintain for a minute or so on a 42x16? I realize some of you have super spin capabilities but I'm looking more for a realistic number. I've had mine on four rides so far and notice I'm getting faster on the downhills but I don't have a computer yet. My area has lots of 400-600 ft vertical climbs, sometimes 10%+ but those are usually the shorter climbs.

Climbing hasn't bothered me. Descending does. Almost lost it the first ride - rear wheel was skipping side to side.

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
FatTireFred said:
as a noob, you should have a brake... in which case it won't matter
It's still a legitimate question. But the answer is, it depends on how fast you can spin and still be stable. If I'm doing the math right, BJII's 40 mph would require about 194 rpm with that gear. I don't know anyone who can do that. I run a slightly higher gear than yours (39x14), and I think I've gotten close to 33 mph once or twice. That's about 150 rpm, and I can't do it for long. I use a brake when necessary.

·
Shirtcocker
60,886 Posts
JCavilia said:
It's still a legitimate question. But the answer is, it depends on how fast you can spin and still be stable. If I'm doing the math right, BJII's 40 mph would require about 194 rpm with that gear. I don't know anyone who can do that. I run a slightly higher gear than yours (39x14), and I think I've gotten close to 33 mph once or twice. That's about 150 rpm, and I can't do it for long. I use a brake when necessary.
yeah I don't know...that's just what the guy claims on that Youtube vid...not many people can spin 200RPM, but I suppose it's possible.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
FatTireFred said: