Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Going Nowhere Fast
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year racing and I pretty much train with a few team mates most of the time.

Here's a quick example:
Sunday: Race or fast group ride(Flat)
Monday: Decent pace 20 mile ride(solo)
Tuesday: Fast group ride then training crit(flat)
Wednesday: Decent pace 20 mile ride(solo)
Thursday: Fast group ride then training crit(flat)
Friday: Decent pace 20 mile ride(solo)
Saturday: Fast group ride(flat)

Since I've started racing crits I can count the number of times I've done any significant climbing on one hand. I would like to start doing hill repeats instead one of those fast group rides.

Question: Will I see any benefits of doing hill repeats this late in the season?
I tried climbing a small hill near my house that I've climbed for years and seemed like I just started riding the bike.. no power at all!!

·
Registered
5,270 Posts
I don't claim to be a coach or expert, but . . . there seems to be too little variation in your week.

1. No rest day.
2. No interval day.
3. Three days of "decent pace" solo hour's ride.
4. Three days of flat group rides.
5. No hills.

This seems kooky to me. IMO you need more variety in your intensity. Take a day off, then do some hill repeats. Find a group ride that hits hills. Do something different ferchrissakes.

·
Game on, b*tches!
13,528 Posts
Maybe a day or 2 of rest would do you better than hill repeats?

·
Registered
4,838 Posts
tbrown524 said:
Since I've started racing crits I can count the number of times I've done any significant climbing on one hand. I would like to start doing hill repeats instead one of those fast group rides.

Question: Will I see any benefits of doing hill repeats this late in the season?
I tried climbing a small hill near my house that I've climbed for years and seemed like I just started riding the bike.. no power at all!!
I agree with Kram.. more rest days..