Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Is there a certain handlebar position / hood angle that is best for not causing pain and numbness in the hands and wrists? See the 3 pictures below, where the hoods are either facing downward, are perfectly parallel to the ground, and are pointing upward.

Thanks!

· Registered
5,358 Posts
It's up to the individual, bar shape, and lever/hood shape. Somewhere between #1 and #2 would be typical. #2 is about as far up as you want. #3 is much too far up.

If the bars or levers are too far up it'll impede your use of the brakes in the drops. That's not a good thing.

· RoadBikeRider
1,053 Posts
I recommend sitting on the bike, loosen up the bar clamp and grab the bar where you would normally ride(drops, hoods etc) and rotate the bar until your wrist is in a fairly neutral/normal position. If you ride in the drops and on the hoods equally you may have to get it as close as possible for both positions. I ride on the hoods approx. 95 % of the time and mine resembles your second photo. I have seen all sorts of tilts on bars so do what works best for you.

· Registered
3,270 Posts
When I set up new bars or shifters, I always put the bike on the trainer and do as you suggested to get the feel correct in the drops and then I tighten the bars in the stem. For the shifters, I install them loosely and move them around until I have a smooth transition from the bar to the hoods, usually ending up somewhere around #2 photo above. After that, I test ride it around the neighborhood making any additional adjustments to get comfortable. When I am OK with the shifter feel, then I'll tape down the cables and install the bar tape. Its a lot easier to make changes to hood position, even slight adjustments, before all the brake cables are secured and bar tape is installed.

· Registered
834 Posts