Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have noticed that my Shimano hoods feel a bit more comfy if they are tilted toward the center a little. That is the way one's wrists are when you reach for the hoods, but I have never found any discussion about whether they should be straight or tilted some. Obviously, if the are too tilted inward, the brakes are a little tougher to get at from the drops. Thoughts??

·
Registered
49 Posts
well since nobody else posted...

I'm no expert but I would think as long as it's comfortable for you then go with it. Unless they are at some drastic angle I can't imagine they'de be harmful to any joints or muscles slightly angled inward. I notice drastic differences in the forward angle on many bikes. I unwrapped my bar tape when I bought my bike and loosened the whole bar up. I ended up rotating the levers upward on the bar, the bar downward in the stem and flipping the stem so it pointed straight out instead of up like the shop had it. It hardly looks noticeable until you push mine next to another bike. Only then can you see my drops are horizontal, my levers are somewhere between 2-3 o'clock if veiwed from the side, lever/shifters only slightly angled upward.

·
scruffy nerf herder
4,484 Posts
My 2 cents...

Honestly, if you are tilting them inward to make them more comfortable, Im going to go out on a limb here and suggest that your handlebars might be too narrow. Notice I said might, but if your handlebars are too narrow, then your elbows would typically be out, causing an unnatural angle on your wrist, thus, aligning the hoods with the angle, would definitely be more comfortable, especially as the rides get longer, or the roads are bumpier.