Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Squirrel Hunter
3,806 Posts
Fashion and Function

jimcav said:
anyone have experience with them--i have no experience with synthetic fiber socks
jim
Perhaps if you lack experience start with traditional cycling sock brands such as DeFeet, Pearl Izumu, Smart Wool or some of the house brands from the catalogs. Get the socks designed for cycling. You will appreciate making the right choice at mile 80 of a century.

My impression is that UnderArmor stuff might be a little bit more fashion oriented so kids (and adults) can pretend to be NFL wannabes. In addition I do not think that UnderArmor makes cycling specific gear. For socks that would mean padding in the appropriate places and no padding in inappropriate places. Base layers with longer tails, longer sleeves, more venting in front than the rear, cut for a cycling position. Just a lot of little details you are not going to get at the sports store that sells candy at the checkout line. There may be some good stuff from UnderArmor you can use for cycling but since you lack experience go with what works.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks--i use smartwool

but the ball of foot wears out (i thought too fast)
so was thinking of other stuff

my main concern was not so much the brand as doing synthetic--i always used wool

·
Squirrel Hunter
3,806 Posts
Wool & Synthetic

jimcav said:
but the ball of foot wears out (i thought too fast)
so was thinking of other stuff

my main concern was not so much the brand as doing synthetic--i always used wool