Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just as the title suggests...had one stolen from the bike room of an apartment building in NYC this spring, and just got down to the bike room in my apartment building in nice little Alexandria, VA to find a severed lock and no bike.

For those who have had their bikes stolen, how do you bounce back? How do trust yourself and trust others to own something you put so much sentimental value on? I'm relatively new to road riding, but have gotten so many hours of joy out of it. On the flip side of that, I really think there is some higher power that just doesn't want me to have a bike...I mean what crappy luck!!! I think of all the time and obviously money that went into the computer, the clip-less pedals, the sizing, all the candy...

On the practical side of things, I've called the police and they said they are calling me tomorrow to take a report. I did not register the bike with po-po when I bought it. Another possibility is renter's insurance, although I'm not banking on that as the bike was stolen from the bike room, not from the apartment itself.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Ah, sucks, sorry to hear that. I don't think I've ever bounced back after having my mid-range MTB stolen a while ago. I am simply a lot more cautious about leaving any of my bikes anywhere in a public place (even semi-public places like apartment lock-ups) because of the horrible experience.

I was pretty naive and blasé about securing my bike before I had it stolen and I guess I learned by experience. Now I never leave my road bike anywhere and my MTB only gets secured with expensive locks in well-lit areas where there are lots of people around.

·
A wheelist
11,322 Posts