gastarbeiter
1,513 Posts
i'm a driver.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Nice sentiment,

but even he doesn't know or believe that bicycles are vehicles. :D

quote: "...riding side by side and taking up a whole lane of a two-lane road, oblivious to the vehicle traffic stacking up behind them."

·
I ride in circles..
4,645 Posts
"On any sunny spring day, you'll find them infesting the country roads surrounding Baltimore looking freakishly fit in their Spandex outfits and dweeby helmets. You just know they're a bunch of smug, greener-than-thou elitists whose greatest joy - apart from forcing motorists to crawl along at 10 mph while they drift toward the middle of the road - is to lecture you about your carbon footprint."

Can someone give me permission to go hit him please?

·
Hold your line!
177 Posts
I file this under.....unenforceable law that probably needs to be passed anyway. We have the 3 foot law where I live (Oklahoma) and it's only usefulness is in court after an accident IF you can prove the motor vehicle invaded the 3 foot buffer zone AND the cyclist wasn't doing anything wrong that caused or contributed to the accident. This is primarily because the only motorists that know about the law are also cyclists. Most law enforcement officers are even ignorant of this and most other laws pertaining to cyclists.

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
IMHO, we are either seen as a nuisance taking up part of "their" road or not seen at all. The latter is how I always treated riding my motorcycle - "No one sees you, but the cops" Kept me from many a trip to the ER ;-)

·
I ride in circles..
4,645 Posts
Hence why I can't wait for my super bright and annoying cateye led to show up.. It'll be nice knowing I have something thats very visible flashing randomly on my bike..

·
Registered
627 Posts