Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a newbie to road bikes, and have been doing research for the last few weeks (this site's forums are awesome!). Today I came across a store that stopped carrying Specialized bikes, and is in the process of clearing their inventory. They have 2 bikes left, and one of them is the Specialized Allez Elite and it's selling for 650. I was ready to buy it, but the clerk told me that as much as he'd love to get rid of it - it's too small for me. I'm 6'0/230lb and he eye-balled me at needed a 56" frame. The frame on this bike is 52".

How much of a difference are these 4"? Are they significant enough that I should avoid this purchase and get a bike with lower quality components? (my price range is 600-800). Can't I just raise the seat and handle bars higher to compensate for it?

Thanks

·
Registered
192 Posts
Its a safe bet that

... if the Guy selling it said its too small then it is. otherwise he'd have taken your cash for sure.
4 cm is huge in frame size and could potentially affect handling / safety. If you know what you are doing there are valid reasons why you might want a smaller frame - but you would really want to understand the implications. Some years ago I rode a Cannondale 58 cm Cannondale because I needed the short T.T - it had a big drop from the saddle to the bars. I knew and accepted that I needed extra care on fast corners etc ( due to weight distribution). I couldn't ride that frame today because of that Sadddle /bar height difference.

·
Man, I'm Awesome
2,203 Posts
dima233 said:
Hi,