Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Obviously, I'm relatively new to road biking to be asking this question. I currently ride with my local bike club...approx. 50-70 miles/week (30-50miles on Sundays and usually 20 miles on a weekday). Anyways, I have sinned and have only ridden with my addidas barricade tennis shoes :eek: :D !!! They are very comfortable and I don't have to worry about clipping in and out. Being able to walk around during our mid-point break is also nice. But, as I am getting a bit more serious about biking, I was looking into getting some true road biking pedals and shoes. It has been brought up to my attention by more than a few members that I would ride much faster and stronger with biking shoes and pedals.

So, my question is, would they make a "big" difference in my overall performance? And, what are good pedals. By good, I mean good quality and ease of clipping in and out. I was looking at the Ultegra Pd-6700 SPD SL pedals. Suggestions? Thanks.

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
I don't think that cycling shoes make a huge difference in power output, at least initially, but over the course of a long ride, they can be much more comfortable. The pedal system will also stabilize your foot, so you don't slide forward on the pedal during a climb.

Unless you feel a strong need to fit in, a performance-oriented mountain bike shoe is fine. They have the same foot position as a road shoe, but with a little flexibility in the forefoot and a more walkable sole. True road shoes really suck to walk in.

I've been riding Speedplays on my road bike for years. They're not very walkable, but very nice to my knees. My mountain and 'cross bikes have Time ATACs, which are a mountain system. SPDs might be better for road use, though - it's a smaller pedal, with a narrower Q factor, and I think they're lighter.

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
AndrwSwitch said: