Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found out this week that I have shingles. For those that don't know, it's the second coming of the chicken pox virus. I don't know if it is the virus or the meds (acyclovir) that are making me feel like such poo. I have ZERO energy with headaches and general malaise along with a painful rash on my abdomen. I tried to muster some intervals on the trainer yesterday, but the best I could do was a 10 minute easy spin.

I'm trying to build up to some sportif type events later in the summer. I have been training 6 days a week for a few months, with intervals 2x a week, strength training 2x a week, and 3-4 hr rides 2x a week.

How long will it be before I am starting from scratch again? What should I do in the meantime?

It's time like these that make you realize how much cycling is a part of your life. It's almost as if I am going through withdrawals!

Thanks ahead of time for the help. :)

·
Registered
161 Posts
Hey Tyro,
I understand your predicament. Getting sick and missing training SUCKS!!!
I recently had the flu and couldn't ride for five days. When I got back on the bike, I felt terrible, my heart rate was so high, it would sky rocket and my legs would burn from just standing up to pedal. It was really hard because I really was worried about losing fitness. Being really tired on the bike lasted just three or four days, so those were pretty much just easy. I think I felt so bad because I had just been sick, but also because i was on antibiotics and those really take it out of you.
The good news is that now (two weeks after getting over the sick) I am mostly back on track. Right now I feel as if I am picking up where I left off. So, I don't think I lost fitness, but it did take me two weeks of mostly low-intensity to get over feeling so tired when riding.