Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let's define quick as averaging 20 mph on a solo flat 30 mile ride.

Using whatever amount of training you did/do, how long did it take you to get to that level?

·
Registered
154 Posts
About 2-3 months. I had a pretty good aerobic base from running and just needed to build up my leg strength.

Started end of December 09, ride 3 times a week. 2 1 hour sessions on the trainer during the work week and 30-50 miles on Saturday or 1.5-2 hours on the trainer if it's raining.

·
Registered
950 Posts
I could probably do that in the third year I returned to cycling. First two years I was learning and building conditioning, and only riding weekends. Third year I started riding 5-6 days a week in the summer.

But I'm old...

·
Registered
409 Posts
Are we talking about starting from scratch or what?

With a good training plan you could conceivably do it in 2-3 months IF you have a decent aerobic base to begin with. You will also need to stick to the training plan through whatever.

I started in May with very little base work, but with a strict plan I was able to get my average speed up to about 33km on the hilly-ish route I take within 2 months. During this time I was weight lifting, training with a power meter, and building a training plan based on what I had learned from the training bible. I also avoided fast food, alcohol (to excess), and smoking. It can be done, but it can be very difficult.

·
eminence grease
18,538 Posts
RyanDFL said:
Let's define quick as averaging 20 mph on a solo flat 30 mile ride.

Using whatever amount of training you did/do, how long did it take you to get to that level?
I started riding when I was around 5.

And I rode my first 20mph century in 2004.

So......45 years.

·
Registered
663 Posts