Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
443 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering how often people grease their BB bearings? I have screw in tapered BB but I am new to the biking world and would like peoples opinions. Do I have to remove the BB to regrease the bearings?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Road bike, non-sealed good quality BB. Best practice 1-2 years depending on use and grease quality. If you're cycling in a lot of rain or off-road 3-9 months is a better bet.

If it's a cheap bb and you don't care about failure then let it eat so long as it's adjusted and running smooth.

I've seen 30+ year old campy BB's with campy grease inside that have been stored inside look quite fresh. On the flip-side I've seen nearly new low quality BB's get ruined in 6 months of wet use. Poor adjustment and poor quality grease did them in.

Years back, prior to well sealed BB's, some used Boat Trailer Wheel bearing grease in BB's. Worked fairly well for hard wet use. Not the best bet if you're trying for world TT records mind you.

Cheers,
NM

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
IIRC, you bought an older, used bike. If you've never checked the bb, it might be worth doing. What you do if there's a problem depends on the type. I'd slip the chain off the ring and turn the cranks gently by hand. If they spin freely and quietly, and it's a sealed unit, ride on and don't worry about it. If they're binding, crunchy, etc., consider replacing the unit.

If it's a loose-ball type, it's relatively easy to take it apart and overhaul with fresh grease, and given the age of the bike there's a good chance the grease is contaminated to some extent.

·
Registered
2,486 Posts
If the bike hasnt been riden for awhile, then i second the overhaul cause the old grease is dried and uselless.