Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
abominable slowman
1,072 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My in-laws have somehow become rabid pro cycling fans. They've been to the Tour de Georgia, and other domestic pro races. They've never been to France and so they've decided they want to go see le Tour in 2010. My wife and I have decided we want to go too (we do actually enjoy traveling with her parents). They're older and not fit and they don't plan to do any actual bike riding. We plan to do lots of bike riding.

So I'm just beginning to plan this. I'd like to make it a long-ish trip (2-3 weeks) and it will probably involve several "phases" (maybe some hiking/trekking, some riding, some time in Paris). I don't even know which regions we'd like to visit (except that we'll definitely hit paris). We'd certainly like to take in some of France's rich history, we'd like to see the Alps and/or Pyrenees, we'd like to eat good food (i guess that will be easy). We may be interested in a supported tour.

So very general questions:

What should I begin thinking about? Where can I find good info for research? Are there tour companies I should look into? Ones I should stay away from? How's the camping? Is it worth trying to camp? This will be the biggest trip we've ever planned, so I'm not sure how to start.

Thanks.

·
duh...
9,658 Posts
taking your own bikes? if so, what are you doing w/ the cases? car or van or rv?

·
Registered
1,736 Posts
llama31 said:
What should I begin thinking about? Where can I find good info for research? Are there tour companies I should look into? Ones I should stay away from? How's the camping? Is it worth trying to camp? This will be the biggest trip we've ever planned, so I'm not sure how to start.

Thanks.
First, France is brilliant for cycling (and food, and wine, and culture, did I mention the wine?). Some ideas: