Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ever since I started racing, it is very expensive for me to replace my busted DA parts. The current DA drivetrain is really worn at 20k miles of races and training and I am thinking off changing the whole group.

Any of you guys using the new 105s? Ultegra has always been known as the best performance to dollar group but I find the new 105 a bit better looking. :eek: And of course slightly cheaper.

So is the 105 good enuff for the racer or should I go ultegra?

·
Registered
137 Posts
I know you're specifically asking about the 10-speed 105 group, which I have no experience with... but I feel compelled to reply, since you've gotten no responses as of yet!

I do have experience with the 105 9-speed group. After switching to Ultegra and then on to DA, I would never go back to 105. The shifting is so clunky and the delay seems to be so long compared to the higher end groups. I might go back to Ultegra if I had to, but never 105. I'm so spoiled with DA... The shifting is smooth like butter!

·
keep rubber side down
624 Posts
I use mix and match

from 9 speed 105/Ultegra/Dura-Ace. So no clue about 10 speeder...

I simply follow the rule of replacing parts when needed with the available deal according to my degree of weight weenieness... (!!!) Do you know the difference between an Ultegra and 105 crankset? (please don't tell me, dear reader, that you "flex" my cheap 2001 Octalink 105 cranks!)

For example: I don't think my front derailleur is really wearing out. And 105 is definitely plenty good for this purpose. But I can find great deal on D-A cassettes that will save me lots of weight for the money.

This way I ended up with 105 cranks, brakes, shifters and levers. Ultegra bottom bracket, training cassette and hubs. Dura-Ace racing cassette and hubs. SRAM PC99 hollow pin chain.