Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sick of having two wordrobes...especially for commuting to work.
I work in manufacturing and jeans and t-shirts are the norm.
Have you any suggestions for pants that are good for a longish bike ride, then can worn all day at work?
I've been hoping to find something with a seamless crotch and some kind of techie fabric.

Thanks
Ray

·
Registered
534 Posts
I'm a big fan of the adidas "climaproof" pants. They're almost windproof, water resistant, and $35 bucks or less. If it's really cold, throw on some longjohns underneath. Plus, you can get them with day-glo stripes, which is great for the road. Put a band around your ankle and you're all set.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I picked up the Sombraro MTB pants from Chainlove. They have a seam down the center and are cut so that pads can be worn under them. They are basically wide droopy jeans.

·
Registered
638 Posts
I've been using MUSA pants from Rivendell and love them. They are made out of a lightweight nylon and fit loose around the legs. They also have a Velcro strap to keep the pants out of the chain.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
Door to door; 14+ miles.

The jeans thing is OK...but I chafe after multiple days on the bike.
I've been experimenting with slowing down. I usually race to work, shower, change, eat.
Now while it's still cold, I take it slow...takes an hour+ instead of 45 mins. But, I'm not as hot and sweaty...kind of like a zero sum...time wise.

Maybe I need a bike that is more appropriate, instead of my touring bike.

I like the looks of the MUSA.

·
Registered
642 Posts
Got a bathroom at work?
Wear biking shorts, jeans in a backpack and change at work.
It's crazy enough idea to work.

·
Riding towards Delmarva.
790 Posts
What if you left a coverall at work and just brought in socks/underwear every day?