Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
1,013 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been riding for a while now (4-6 months) never more then 15 miles at a time twice a day, 2-3 times a week.

About 20 minutes into the ride, both my elbows get very stiff. I have to get my hands off the bars, and swing my arms back and forth to get some relief.

On my road bike, I ride 90% with my hand just over the brakes.

I did move the handle bars up a bit, and did not notice any improvement.

Does anyone know whats wrong with me?

·
Palm trees & sunshine!
24,208 Posts
KendleFox said:
Does anyone know whats wrong with me?
Probably more than is appropriate to dicuss in Beginner's. :)

Assuming proper fit.....

Try to keep your elbows slightly bent and loose. This will make your triceps sore at first until they get used to the load but you shouldn't get any "stiffness". Try switching up hand positions too. Move from the hoods to the tops to the drops periodically. That will help a lot.

·
Banned
1,013 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
KenB said:
Probably more than is appropriate to dicuss in Beginner's. :)

Assuming proper fit.....

Try to keep your elbows slightly bent and loose. This will make your triceps sore at first until they get used to the load but you shouldn't get any "stiffness". Try switching up hand positions too. Move from the hoods to the tops to the drops periodically. That will help a lot.
I had the handle bars moved up, to get my sit bones on the seat, due to fit problems mentioned in this thread.

http://forums.roadbikereview.com/showthread.php?t=60373

I've been trying to get my bike adjusted right. My best guess is I need a shorter stem, but funds do not permit at this time.

I have tried all the things you have mentioned, even so, about 40 min into the ride, my hands fall asleep too, but the elbows bother me more.

I'm hoping time and endurance will defeat the problem.

Thanks for the help...

·
Registered
11,555 Posts