Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There's a road about twelve miles away from my typical startin point that is on average at a 2-3% incline. It is roughly ten miles long.

I don't know why, but no matter what condition I am in mentally or physically, I grind to a halt (10-12 m.p.h.) on these long but not terrible gradients... even in the beginning of it...

There are other locations where I perform just like this, but this is the one I am using in my example...

What kind of training, exercise or preparation can help me perform better on this kind of "elevation"?

·
Registered
61 Posts
time yourself and keep at it

Time yourself on the hill and keep doing it. This worked for me.

There is this 9km climb along my favorite weekend route. I have been riding this hill weekly for several months and I felt that I was not improving. I mentioned this to a friend who suggested that I record my time on the hill. So for several weeks, I timed myself on this hill and found out that while my suffering felt the same, my time steadily improved from 29+minutes to 25+minutes.

Maybe your pain is constant but your time is improving.

·
Registered
5,270 Posts
lalahsghost said:
There's a road about twelve miles away from my typical startin point that is on average at a 2-3% incline. It is roughly ten miles long.

I don't know why, but no matter what condition I am in mentally or physically, I grind to a halt (10-12 m.p.h.) on these long but not terrible gradients... even in the beginning of it...

There are other locations where I perform just like this, but this is the one I am using in my example...

What kind of training, exercise or preparation can help me perform better on this kind of "elevation"?
I bet if you re-read this post you'll be able to come up with an idea. :idea:

·
Registered
296 Posts