Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have lots of experience patching MTB tubes, more than 15 years, and i have used succesfully MTB tubes with over 10 patches on them.
I had a flat last week on my road bike i took the tube off and i cleaned the area of the puncture, it was a little hole in the center of the tube. I sanded it and i applied the cement i use on my mtb tube i let it dry and i applied the patch, it stucked succcesfully but one of the corners wouldnt get glued correctly so as i inflated teh tube it allowed air to leak and/ or it would come off.
I had nothing to do so i worked on the tube for a while and after over 5 tries the patch always ended coming off.
what am i doing wrong?
Maybe its so stupid as you shouldnt be inflating the tube outside the tire to check on your patch kind of answer but i would apreciate any help on this matter.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Viva Mexico! said:
I have lots of experience patching MTB tubes, more than 15 years, and i have used succesfully MTB tubes with over 10 patches on them.
I had a flat last week on my road bike i took the tube off and i cleaned the area of the puncture, it was a little hole in the center of the tube. I sanded it and i applied the cement i use on my mtb tube i let it dry and i applied the patch, it stucked succcesfully but one of the corners wouldnt get glued correctly so as i inflated teh tube it allowed air to leak and/ or it would come off.
I had nothing to do so i worked on the tube for a while and after over 5 tries the patch always ended coming off.
what am i doing wrong?
Maybe its so stupid as you shouldnt be inflating the tube outside the tire to check on your patch kind of answer but i would apreciate any help on this matter.
Using glue. Get one of the patch kits where the cement has already been applied to the patch. Those work much better.

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
Got to disagree about those patches--I hate 'em

JJCole said: