Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Climbs like a sprinter...
6,976 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought me some Genius 5's about 3 months ago. Had bad hot spost, got fit kitted, tried Big Meat wedges, different cleat positions, etc. The only thing that I got was knee pain. I put my old crappy Specialized shoes on last night and it was foot bliss.

Anybody want a good deal on some three month ould Side Genius 5's?

· Registered
86 Posts
wow you're the first one ive ever heard that has said they feel hot spots on a Sidi genius. I've been using Sidi's (non carbon) for 10 yrs now and have used them with DUraAce pedals and now using SpeedPlay zeros and notta prob at all.
And your knee pain isnt due to the shoes but rather the pedals your using and the amt of float or lack of.

· Climbs like a sprinter...
6,976 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I realize that the knee pain is from cleat placement, etc. but the cleats were being adjusted in an attempt to make the foot pain go away. It I squeeze my knees close to the top tube and kick my heels out the foot pain goes away (somewhat) but then my knees hurt.

· Bacon!
9,193 Posts
Sidi's don't work on my wife's feet. Gets cramps behind her big toe of all things. Who knows why, but she's not very happy with 'em.

· Registered
86 Posts
bmxhacksaw said:
I realize that the knee pain is from cleat placement, etc. but the cleats were being adjusted in an attempt to make the foot pain go away. It I squeeze my knees close to the top tube and kick my heels out the foot pain goes away (somewhat) but then my knees hurt.

What you should so is return you Sidi's to the store you bought them at and get the "mega" Sidi's.
The Genius 5 Mega Lorica is designed for a wider foot. Its a huge difference.