Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm an idiot. I just pulled into a friend's garage with my brand new Damocles attached to the roof rack. It is a dark dark day and I will never forget the sound of the carbon cracking. The only good news is that since I bought it with AMEX they have 90 day accidental damage protection so they are covering $1000 dollars but it still sucks. Definitely won't make that mistake again. To every one with roof racks....beware. This could be you.

G

·
Am I the only person in the world who has never even come close to driving into something with my bike on the roof?

I have been using a roof rack for 25 years or more and have never damaged either the car or a bike.

I simply don't understand how anyone could do this.

·
your text here
13,192 Posts
strip that frame of all the parts. wheels, crank, brakes, seatpost...all of it. while you are down a bit at the start, you will, over time, come out ahead.

·
Registered
91 Posts
The upside is, the components and wheels look ok from the pics... you can get a nice frame only for $1000...

That happened to a good friend... sometimes you just forget. Buy a warning sign to hang from your rear view mirror whenever the bike is up top...

·
OUTLAW BIKER
463 Posts
Wow Dude...
OUCH!!

·
Registered
73 Posts
OMG!!!!!!!! This is exactly the reason why I will never place my bike anywhere outside of the car for transportation! One little brain fart, and your $4k bike is gone! I have always heard of people ruining their bikes this way, but this is the first time I have ever seen evidence.
I am sorry for your loss, and I hope you throw away your rack and transport the bike inside the car from now on.

·
Registered
156 Posts
My sister's husband has done that twice. (hi Bill!) He doesn't use roof racks anymore...

·
Rollin' Stones
2,560 Posts
It sort of looks like a Look TT bike. ouch.

·
Registered
1,304 Posts